Tuesday 22nd October 2019

  • 1

    Wingate & Finchley


  • 2

    Bishop's Stortford

Betvictor Isthmian Permier

Wingate and Finchley fell to a 2-1 defeat at home to Bishop’s Stortford on Tuesday despite a dominant performance on the night.

Within the opening 15 minutes the Blues found themselves 2-0 down.

They fought back into the game and pulled one back through Tommy Tejan-Sie before the break, before controlling most of the second possession.

But, having scored six against Edgware last time out, Wingate seemed to have run out of goals and couldn’t muster an equaliser before the final whistle.

The game had barely begun before the home side found themselves behind.

Ryan Henshaw met an 11th-minute corner and floated a header back over Shane Gore to make it 1-0.

And two minutes later Shomari Barnwell cut inside from the right and doubled Stortford’s lead with a curling shot into the far corner.

From then on, it was all Wingate.

Eoin Mckeown played in Tage Kennedy who found Tejan-Sie with a low cross, the midfielder slotting under Frederick Burbidge to make it 2-1 just after the half-hour mark.

Kennedy himself almost pulled the Blues level but saw his looping shot cleared off the line minutes later.

The second half saw Wingate stay on top - Tanasheh Abrahams hit the side-netting before Luke Ifil saw a cross deflect on to the bar.

Plenty of unfinished crosses made their way into and out of Bishop Stortford’s box and, as time ticked on, clear-cut chances became fewer and further between.

With one minute of normal time remaining Burbridge parried Tejan-Sie’s shot and somehow got a toe to Kennedy’s follow-up, but it was to be the closest

Wingate would come to an equaliser and Bishop’s Stortford left Finchley with all three points.

The Blues are back in cup action when they host Hayes & Yeading this Saturday.

Report by Andrew Gerlis


  1. Gore
  2. Ifil
  3. Abrahams
  4. Rifat
  5. Forino-Joseph
  6. Grace
  7. 63

  8. Fleming
  9. 71

  10. Ochieng
  11. McKeown
  12. Tejan-Sie
  13. Kennedy



  1. Michael-Percil
  2. 71

  3. Ruff
  4. Oluwatimilehin
  5. Njie
  6. Dupray




Simon Finnigan