Tuesday 8th December 2020

  • 4

    AFC Hornchurch

  • 1

    Wingate & Finchley


FA Trophy 1st Round

Wingate & Finchley fell to a disappointing 4-1 defeat in Tuesday's FA Trophy First Round clash on a chilly night at AFC Hornchurch.

Despite equalising through Tommy Tejan-Sie having gone behind early on, the hosts went ahead before half time and took control in the second half, knocking the Blues out of the Trophy.

Hornchurch took the lead just after the 10 minute mark with Ollie Muldoon curling a superb free kick past a helpless Fergal Hale-Brown.

Parity was restored within minutes, however, through Tejan-Sie's calm finish from Samir Bihmoutine's cross.

Suleiman Bakalandwa was the brightest spark for the Blues in the first half, threatening to put his side ahead on a few occasions but his attempts and crosses never quite came off.

It was ex-Blues man Charlie Ruff who gave Hornchurch their lead back, smashing home minutes before half time after receiving the ball from Ellis Brown who had done good work to reach the byline.

Wingate weren't out of it at the break, but failed to create any meaningful chances before the Urchins scored their third; Ruff was provided this time, crossing to Sam Higgins who fired into the top corner to make it 3-1.

Hale-Brown did well to prevent a fourth Hornchurch goal, saving especially well from a Liam Nash free kick, however it eventually came with five minutes remaining.

Higgins played a good ball through to Nash who had only Hale-Brown to beat, and capped off the hosts’ night with a calm finish to make it four.

Hornchurch’s victory sees them into the hat for the Second Round of the FA Trophy, whilst the Blues will reflect on a poor night which saw a comfortable victory for the hosts.

Report by Jamie Grossman


  1. Hale-Brown
  2. 64

  3. Doyle
  4. 45

  5. Bihmoutine
  6. Edwards
  7. Eales
  8. Rifat
  9. Bakalandwa
  10. Tejan-Sie
  11. Ofori-Acheampong
  12. Vilhete
  13. 70

  14. Sayoud



  1. Kissi
  2. Stirling
  3. 64

  4. Ifil
  5. 70

  6. Healey
  7. Kennedy
  8. Shomotun
  9. Gibbons